Today in Sports History: August 17

In 2008, Spanish tennis player, Rafeal Nadal, beat Chilean tennis player, Fernando Gonzalez to win the men’s singles championship at the Beijing Summer Olympics. He secured Spain’s first Olympic gold medal in tennis. He won 6-3, 7-6, and 6-3 in three games. 

Nadal turned professional in 2001 and is still playing. He is an all-time leader with 21 Grand Slam men’s singles titles including the 13 Roland Garros Championships. He won two Olympic Gold medals; Men’s singles in the 2008 Beijing Summer Games and Men’s doubles in the 2016 Rio Summer games.

Nadal won the French Open 13 times, the US Open four times, Wimbledon two times, and the Australian Open two times. His Grand Slam finals record thus far is 21 wins and 8 losses with 29 appearances. 

Throughout his career thus far he has had a singles record of 1,048 wins and 210 losses with 91 ATP titles and a doubles record of 138 wins and 74 losses with 11 ATP titles. 

He was a team member in the Davis Cup in 2004, 2009, 2011, 2017, and 2019, and a team member for the Laver Cup in 2017 and 2019. He won the Davis Cup four times and the Laver Cup two times. 

As of the current season, he is ranked for singles at No. 3 with 35 wins and 3 losses. He has four single titles. He also is ranked No. 1,065 for doubles with one win and no losses or titles.

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article