Today in Sports History: December 18

In 1988 the Seattle Seahawks won their first ever division title with a 9-7 record, after a disappointing loss to the New York Jets they ended second in the AFC West. The franchise has come a long way since then. The team won three NFC conference championships in 2006, 2014, and 2015. The Seahawks entered the 2013-14 season at 17-2 odds to win the Super Bowl. The Seahawks put up a dominant performance in Super Bowl XLVIII, defeating the Denver Broncos 43-8. Seahawks linebacker Malcolm Smith, who returned an interception 69 yards for a touchdown, recovered a fumble and made nine tackles, was named Super Bowl MVP.  In the 2020-21 season, the Seahawks are currently second in the NFC West with a record of 9-4.

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article