Today in Sports History: February 7

In 2010, the New Orleans Saints beat the Indianapolis Colts 31-17 and won their first Super Bowl Championship. Super Bowl XLIV was at Sun Life Stadium (Hard Rock Stadium – present) in Miami Gardens, in Miami, Florida. 

The Super Bowl Most Valuable Player (MVP) was awarded to Saints’ quarterback Drew Brees. Brees played 20 seasons in the National Football League (NFL), five for the San Diego Chargers and 15 for the New Orleans Saints.

He won the Associated Press NFL Offensive Player of the Year Award twice, and also won Sports Illustrated Sportsman of the Year, and the Associated Press Male Athlete of the Year. He was also selected to the Pro Bowl team 12 times, which was a team record. 

Brees ended up retiring after the 2020 season and was ranked within the league’s best quarterbacks. He became the first player in NFL history to pass for over 4,000 yards in 12 straight seasons and also holds an NFL record of five 5,000-yard passing seasons.

Brees has stayed within the sport of football. He currently has a deal with NBC as a football analyst, broadcasting and covering NFL games.

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article