Today in Sports History: June 20

In 1993, Michael Jordan and the Chicago Bulls won three consecutive NBA Finals titles with a 99-98 victory in Game 6 over the Phoenix Suns. The Chicago Bulls became the first team since the Boston Celtics in the 1960s, to win 3 straight consecutive NBA championships. Jordan won the Finals MVP for the third time in the third straight year.  

Jordan played in the National Basketball Association for 15 years. First, for the Bulls from 1984-98, then for the Washington Wizards from 2001-03. He averaged 30.1 points per game, 6.2 rebounds per game, and 5.3 assists per game within the 1,072 games he had played. 

At the beginning of his professional career, Jordan was named NBA Rookie of the Year and selected for the All-Rookie Team. He was also a 14-time All-Star, 11-time All-NBA Team, 9-time to the All-Defensive Team, 7-time NBA Sporting News Most Valuable Player of the Year, 6-time NBA Finals Most Valuable Player, 5-time NBA Most Valuable Player, 3-time NBA All-Star Most Valuable Player, 2-time Olympic gold medalist, 2-time IBM Award, and 1-time NBA Defensive Player of the Year.

In 1991, Jordan led the Bulls to six NBA Championships from 1991-98, including three straight championships from 1991-93 and then three more from 1996-98. 

Later in his career, he was enshrined and inducted into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame in 2009.

Jordan currently owns the NBA team, Charlotte Hornets, and partners with Nike to create Air Jordan’s signature clothing and shoes.

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article